Long Story Short: Book Published!

NewCoverAlthough it’s been like a year since my last post (and let’s be honest, since I ran out of ‘gas’) I feel I owe it to this blog to make this announcement and share the news. This place after all, helped me express my excitement to my new turn in life. But the cause of my absence is nothing surprising to anyone who writes – life got busy, life went by too fast to even slow down for a moment to write about something, life got exhausting and depressing… I’m sure I don’t need to explain this to anyone. Everyone has been there. But the one positive thing that became the result of all that was finishing writing, editing and publishing my book on Amazon.

Yes, I ventured into the ebook world and became yet another aspiring self-published “author.” I use that term loosely because I don’t yet feel like I can consider myself one yet. I mean let’s be honest, ANYONE can publish ANYTHING on Amazon. It’s a flooded market but I dove head first in anyway. I already had a couple of posts about the book here and not much has changed. The “working title” persisted, and the book is officially called Take Back Home. You can find it here: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00U51K036 for $3.99. You can also find it listed on GoodReads here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25066264-take-back-home. Samples are available on both sites, however due to the buggy nature of “Look Inside” on Amazon, I’d either recommend downloading a sample to kindle from Amazon directly or by looking at the preview on GoodReads. The formatting is mostly correct at those two places where as “Look Inside” removed a lot of formatting and I just can’t seem to get it fixed. EDIT: Look Inside is pretty much fine on mobile devices/mobile website versions though… I have no idea why the desktop site version is not.

I’m not sure how much I’ll be posting on here or whether or not I’d start another blog just on books I’m writing/plan on writing. It all depends on how the future goes. But either way, until then, thank you everyone who has read or shared anything on my blog. 🙂

About Jon R.

Silly, serious & everything in between – that’s me in a nutshell. (Salty too… since I’m in a nutshell I might as well be suitably seasoned!) It’s apparent that I have a different way of thinking and seemingly have a talent for viewing things with a more independent perspective as well as an ability to perceive the objective nature of things more than most. Much like anyone else, I wish for the world to be more civilized and enjoyable for all. I’m full of ideas and love to improve things, and (un)fortunately the world has plenty wrong to offer. I’ve always been a problem solver and I love doing it. My endless ambition plus the urge to defend what’s right and bring reason has lead me to writing. With this I aspire to contribute some good to the world in order to help make it a better place. Regardless, all views are my opinion and not meant to offend anyone. While I seem to have the less popular point of view on things, I don’t represent any one side. I respect all sides and do my best to reflect on all fairly and within reason. I hope readers will find the content on this site interesting, and just maybe, will leave with a little more of an open mind.
This entry was posted in Book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Long Story Short: Book Published!

  1. I looked at both but the formatting looked the same. I take it you know it’s not standard formatting for fiction? I don’t think not using names is a particular issue, I’ve read a number of books that avoid/minimise that.

    At a quick glance, it read part fiction, part analysis and I couldn’t work out where the emphasis lay. Or maybe that was the idea?

    • Jon R. says:

      Were you on a mobile device? Turns out for Amazon, it’s mostly correct when looking at “Look Inside” on a mobile website. Have no idea why the desktop version is so crappy. Everyone has been saying there are bugs but they never fix it. Anyway, I need to add that to my post.

      Yep, I wrote it very differently. It’s a bit more script like, even. I know it’s not standard yet I’m hardly the standard type. But, I dare to be different. With so much dialogue I felt it to be necessary. But also, yes you are right. It’s a narrative fiction mixed with “non-fiction” elements (I guess is one way to put it) and the lack of names is part of the whole theme and premise. Chapter two is almost an extended introduction but it’s all very relevant and part of the story. The whole thing IS a story, but the plot extends further, more so “beyond” the pages to make people think. Contemporary fiction would be another description but that genre wasn’t an option. So yes, that’s pretty much the idea. 🙂

      • Ipad. Too lazy to go and look on the laptop.

        Hard to tell from a couple of chapters which is the problem with look inside/previews. The reader has to make a decision based on reading the first few pages which aren’t necessarily indicative of the whole lot.

        It could get a lot of publicity if you pitch it in the right places. Or even the wrong places.

        • Jon R. says:

          I agree that it’s hard to tell, which is why I wish it was possible to create your own preview and upload it. Every book has it’s copyright/ToC etc… or whatever at the beginning and it takes up so much of the preview.

          lol @ wrong places. I bet it would, knowing how people feel about the topic at hand. I’ve seen (and been a part of) the internet arguing over it. Ironically, since I just saw your post last night, my next planned book is going to be all about religion. Nothing insulting, but a down the middle take on it and more. I’m sure THAT will certainly get people talking in some of the wrong places. We all know how little they can be objective about things… 😉

Comment Below!

